No, I Am Not Perfect

“Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:”
Philippians 1:6 KJV

A comment was made to me saying, “See you’re not perfect.” when I made a mistake. That is so true, I am not perfect but why would they have commented in that manner. So I took a moment dwelling on this. I even became a little offended till I realized it was the enemy attacking my growth.

I am not perfect. There are so many areas in my life that I am still shedding away “sinful nature”. Just like seperating layers of an onion there is that little piece of film between each layer that sticks to anything you use to remove it. I still have those pieces of “sin” film that tries to cling to my growth. But I am still allowing God to wash it away by reading HIS Word and applying HIS instruction to my life.

When my doctor told me I had type 2 diabetes, I disagreed with her. I was not going to claim it. Still and all my lifestyle was allowing my sugar to spike a bit. So I had to change my eating habits and try to get exercise to change my numbers. I didn’t want to be diabetic. I am still in the process of retraining my eating habits but I have improved on them in regard to my prediabetic eating habits.

Applying God’s instructions to my lifestyle does not make a me perfect, it’s developing a wonderful new way of life. It’s helping me to find joy in turmoil, to extend grace to others, to have peace, love, compassion, patience, and all the good fruits God provides. It’s developing obedience to The One who cherishes me even when I don’t deserve it.

This is my race and I want to run it with full stride. I am not worried about finishing first, I just want to finish with all the potential God has given me. I desire to live according to scripture. I will strive for perfection when I run my race, not to be better than anyone but better than I once was. I do this out of the love I have for my Savior and for my gratitude for HIS grace!

No, I am not perfect! I am purposely pursuing what God wants me to be and I want to live according to HIS Word.

“For we through the Spirit wait for the hope of righteousness by faith. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law. And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts. If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.”
Galatians 5:5, 22-26 KJV

“Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit. A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire. Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.”
Matthew 7:16-20 KJV

Leave a comment